You'll get a chance to tap Kalamax with the Settlement before the rebound trigger resolves, and you'll be able to copy the Salvaging with Kalamax's trigger when you cast it off of rebound.
03.11.2025 17:35 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0@natedogg.bsky.social
Magic Rules Guru Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary | I answer Magic rules questions on the internet
You'll get a chance to tap Kalamax with the Settlement before the rebound trigger resolves, and you'll be able to copy the Salvaging with Kalamax's trigger when you cast it off of rebound.
03.11.2025 17:35 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0A: Yep, you get that chance. Rebound is, in part, a triggered ability that triggers when your upkeep begins that will let you cast the spell with rebound when it resolves. Since it's a triggered ability, you'll get priority after the trigger is put on the stack, before it resolves.
03.11.2025 17:35 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 1 ๐ 0Day 112 of the CI Backlog:
Q: It's my upkeep, and I have a Faithless Salvaging about to be cast off of rebound, along with a Holdout Settlement and a Kalamax, the Stormsire in play. Do I get a chance to tap Kalamax with the Settlement's ability before I cast the Salvaging so I can copy it? #mtg
When the trigger resolves, the land is returning from the graveyard/exile to the battlefield, so landfall abilities will trigger.
03.11.2025 17:31 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 1 ๐ 0Look, I can only be a rules expert in one game at a time. I don't have the ability to play a second card game on top of that.
03.11.2025 04:37 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0Since Hall of Gemstones is the older World Enchantment, it will go to the graveyard when Field of Dreams enters.
And I wouldn't worry about the World rule too much - it's only on 26 cards, the last of which was originally printed back in Visions, so this situation doesn't come up very often.
A: Yep, your opponent is right, and it's due to an old rule called the World rule.
World is a supertype that used to appear on some enchantments. If there's a World Enchantment in play, and second World Enchantment enters, the older World Enchantment goes to the graveyard.
BONUS Day 111 of the CI Backlog:
Q: I have a Hall of Gemstone in play. Then my opponent plays Field of Dreams and tells me that my Hall goes to the graveyard. Are they right? #mtg
I'm not asking for much, but please, Blue Jays?
02.11.2025 03:24 โ ๐ 3 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0They probably do. I just didn't look that closely at the back of my PC and assumed the manual would match the back, but I was wrong (and bought the wrong thing). But now I know what I need and can go make an exchange.
02.11.2025 01:22 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0So my new computer only has one HDMI port, which makes it difficult to set up a second monitor. But apparently it has three DisplayPorts that I'm supposed to use, so I guess I need some HDMI to DisplayPort converter?
Ok, I think we have enough unique ports now. No need to make anymore.
I think that's just what everyone sees when the OP blocks the quoter. I haven't interacted with Graham's post yet, but the original post shows as blocked to me, but I can still find my way to his profile and see his posts (so I'm not blocked).
01.11.2025 20:25 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0If you have four or more energy, you could choose to spent four energy to make sure your opponent's creature dies. But if you have three or less energy (or you want to save your energy for something else), you can choose to spend less energy or even no energy at all.
01.11.2025 18:58 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0A: The choice of how much energy to pay is made when the Discharge resolves, not when you cast it. When the Discard resolves, first, you get three energy, then you decide how much energy you want to pay.
01.11.2025 18:58 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 1 ๐ 0Day 110 of the CI Backlog:
Q: I cast Galvanic Discharge targeting my opponent's 2/2 creature. In response, they cast Wing It to give it +2/+2. What happens when my Discharge resolves?
Squee's Toy.
01.11.2025 17:55 โ ๐ 14 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 2 ๐ 0There are definitely movies coming out (source: manager at a movie theatre). This is kind of a slow time of year though. Things will start to pick up later this month, but if you're not into horror, dramas, or (apparently now) anime movies, there's not much coming out.
01.11.2025 16:17 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0Ooooo, KitKat.
01.11.2025 00:36 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0I'm a proud member of the Gavin-y Township.
31.10.2025 20:35 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0And while effects that refer to milled card can find those cards in a public zone, the library is not a public zone (even if the cards are revealed beforehand). Since the milled cards ended up in a hidden zone, Eivor's effect won't find them and you won't put anything onto the battlefield.
31.10.2025 17:20 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0A: They end up on the bottom of your library. The Wheel has a replacement effect, not a triggered ability, so the milled cards won't go to your graveyard at all - they're put on the bottom of your library instead of going to the graveyard.
31.10.2025 17:20 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 1 ๐ 0Day 109 of the CI Backlog:
Q: I control Eivor, Wolf-Kissed and have a Wheel of Sun and Moon attached to me. If I deal combat damage with Eivor, can I still put any sagas milled by Eivor onto the battlefield, or do they go on the bottom of my library? #mtg
So far, day 1 with the new computer is going well. I think I have most things downloaded and transferred. The one issue I have is that one of my monitors can't connect to my new PC, so I'm going to need to buy another monitor. That, and just getting used to new settings and Windows 11.
31.10.2025 17:00 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0New computer is here! I guess you know what I'm doing for the rest of the night (downloading things)
31.10.2025 00:07 โ ๐ 2 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0It's probably a Cave so it can be searched for with one of the new Sagas from the set, The Cave of Two Lovers.
30.10.2025 19:57 โ ๐ 4 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 2 ๐ 0It was the first thing I saw when I woke up and started browsing Bluesky - "ok, so this can't be blocked, so let's see how you make it into a creature - oh, the last ability *doesn't* make it a creature, so now how would I make it into a creature?"
30.10.2025 19:53 โ ๐ 1 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 0 ๐ 0From the article:
'A few finer points about the return trip: "Your control" means whoever controlled the creature land as it died or was exiled. If an opponent borrows the land and it dies or is exiled under their control, they'll get it when it comes back.'
magic.wizards.com/en/news/feat...
A: The Hart will return under your control, not its owner's control. Whoever controlled the earthbended land when it was put into the graveyard or exiled will have the land return under that player's control. You controlled the Hart when it went to the graveyard, so it returns under your control.
30.10.2025 17:36 โ ๐ 0 ๐ 0 ๐ฌ 1 ๐ 0BONUS Day 108 of the CI Backlog:
Hey, remember this question from a few months ago? Thanks to the Mechanics article, we have an answer now: bsky.app/profile/nate...
I swear, once a week, I go "Wait, they reprinted *that* in Foundations?!?"
This week's winner - Felidar Retreat.